New Registration Process

Enter your information directly on this page and click “Register.” Please note: you will not receive an automated email confirmation. Instead, you will be redirected to a registration confirmation page containing all information needed for attending the event. You will also receive a reminder email a few days before the event.

Amazing Storytellers

August4, 2024 at 7pm ET

Lauren Ling Brown • Elly Griffiths • Shari Lapena • Catherine Steadman

5

Registration for this event is closed.

By registering for this event you agree to receive event notifications from The Back Room. You can unsubscribe at any time, however please be aware that if you unsubscribe before the event, you will not receive log in information.

Lauren Ling Brown

Lauren Ling Brown received a BA in English literature from Princeton University and an MFA in film production with a focus in screenwriting from the USC School of Cinematic Arts. She currently resides in Los Angeles, California, where she works as a film editor. Society of Lies is her debut novel.

9780593723357

Society of Lies

When a young woman is found dead on her college campus, her sister doesn't believe it was an accident--and her search for answers leads her closer to home than she ever would have imagined in this thrilling debut novel from an exciting new talent.

Elly Griffiths

Elly Griffiths is the author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series, the Brighton Mysteries and three stand-alone crime novels. She won the 2020 Edgar Award for The Stranger Diaries and, in 2016, was awarded the CWA Dagger in The Library.

Elly’s latest book, The Last Word, published in April 2024, was a Sunday Times bestseller and described by the Sunday Times as ‘cosy crime of a superior order’.

9780063374720

The Last Word

Words turn deadly with an unlikely detective duo on the case of a murdered obituary writer in this literary mystery from the internationally bestselling author of the Ruth Galloway series. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz.

Shari Lapena

Shari Lapena is the internationally bestselling author of the thrillers The Couple Next Door, A Stranger in the House, An Unwanted Guest, Someone We Know, The End of Her, Not a Happy Family, and Everyone Here Is Lying, which have all been New York Times and The Sunday Times (London) bestsellers.

Her books have been sold in forty territories around the world. She lives on a farm outside Toronto.

9780593489963

What Have You Done?

Dark - Addictive - Twisty - Chilling - Domestic Suspense "Lapena is a master of manipulation." --USA Today

The new unputdownable novel from the "queen of the one-sit read," and New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door Nothing ever happens in sleepy little Fairhill, Vermont. But this morning that will change. And one innocent question could be deadly. What have you done?

Catherine Steadman

Catherine Steadman is an author and screenwriter based in London. She grew up in the New Forest, Hampshire, and now lives in East London with her husband and two daughters.

Steadman’s first novel, Something in the Water, was a Reese’s Book Club pick and a New York Times bestseller with rights sold in over 30 territories. She is also the author of Mr. Nobody, The Disappearing Act, and The Family Game (a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice), and her novels have been featured in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Entertainment Weekly, and ELLE.com, among other outlets.

9780593725740

Look in the Mirror

When Nina's father dies, she is left something in his will: a gleaming dream vacation home in a balmy tropical paradise.

She'll find out the hard way that what you inherit from those you love can end up costing your life in this heart-pounding thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of Something in the Water.

Meet Your Hosts

The Back Room is the brainchild of bestselling authors Hank Phillippi Ryan and Karen Dionne. 

Learn more about how they conceived of The Back Room, how it works, and about their books too!

How It Works

1. Register

2. Log in

3. Program introduction

4. Breakout rooms