New Registration Process

Enter your information directly on this page and click “Register.” Please note: you will not receive an automated email confirmation. Instead, you will be redirected to a registration confirmation page containing all information needed for attending the event. You will also receive a reminder email a few days before the event.

Intense Summer Reads

June 16, 2024 at 7pm ET

Charlie Donlea • Meg Gardiner • Walter Mosley • Kate White

2

Registration for this event is closed.

By registering for this event you agree to receive event notifications from The Back Room. You can unsubscribe at any time, however please be aware that if you unsubscribe before the event, you will not receive log in information.

Charlie Donlea

Charlie Donlea is the USA Today and #1 International bestselling author of propulsive, female-driven thrillers including The Girl Who Was Taken, Don’t Believe It, Twenty Years Later, and Those Empty Eyes.

His latest thriller, Long Time Gone, explores the science of forensic genealogy. ​ A late bloomer, he was twenty years old when he read his first novel–The Firm by John Grisham–and knew he would someday write thrillers.

Published in forty countries and translated into nearly twenty languages, his books have sold more than 1.5 million copies in the U.S. alone and have been optioned for film and television. He lives in Chicago with his wife and two children.

9781496727183

Long Time Gone

When DNA results reveal a disturbing connection to the mysterious disappearance of a famous baby nearly three decades ago, a woman's search for answers draws her to an ominous small town in Nevada and a dangerous web of corruption, power, and lies in this engrossing, propulsive new novel from the internationally bestselling author of Twenty Years Later. For fans of Alice Feeney, Stacy Willingham, Riley Sager, and Megan Goldin.

"Zigzagging mercilessly between past and present, Donlea keeps up the tension...in a superior thriller." -- Kirkus, STARRED REVIEW

Meg Gardiner

Meg Gardiner is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of sixteen novels. Her thrillers have won the Edgar Award and been summer reading picks by The Today Show and O, the Oprah magazine.

Called “Hitchcockian” (USA Today) and “nailbiting and moving” (Guardian), her books have been translated into more than 20 languages.

Her latest title co-authored with Michael Mann, is Heat 2, while her newest standalone, Shadowheart, publishes on June 18.

81crQEaN1FL._SY466_

Shadowheart

What happens when two serial killers begin to compete with each other? From #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Gardiner comes a new high-octane thriller in the acclaimed UNSUB series.

Walter Mosley

Walter Mosley is one of the most versatile and admired writers in America. He is the author of more than sixty critically acclaimed books that cover a wide range of ideas, genres, and forms including fiction (literary, mystery, and science fiction), political monographs, writing guides including Elements of Fiction, a memoir in paintings, and a young adult novel called 47. His work has been translated into twenty-five languages

9780316491112

Farewell, Amethystine

From "master of the genre" (Washington Post) Walter Mosley, Detective Easy Rawlins' latest client sends him down a warren of memory and nostalgia--blinding him to reason and risk.

Kate White

Kate White is the New York Times, USA Today, and #1 Amazon charts best-selling author of ten standalone psychological thrillers, including The Last Time She Saw Him, as well as eight Bailey Weggins mysteries, including Such a Perfect Wife, which was nominated for an International Thriller Writers Award.

Kate, the former editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan, is also the editor of The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook and the author of several bestselling books on career success.

9780063382626

The Last Time She Saw Him

A woman is left reeling when her former fiancé appears to take his own life, and she becomes desperate to prove it was actually murder--in the latest psychological thriller from New York Times bestselling author Kate White

Meet Your Hosts

The Back Room is the brainchild of best selling authors Hank Phillippi Ryan and Karen Dionne. Each event they are host to a lively discussion with a panel of authors.

Learn more about how they conceived of The Back Room, how it works, and about their books too!

How It Works

1. Register

2. Log in

3. Program introduction

4. Break out rooms